Nell – Newton’s Apple

by

Image

01. Decompose

02. Fantasy

03. 타인의 기억

04. 침묵의 역사

05. 지구가 태양을 네 번_Four Times Around the Sun

06. Grey Zone

07. Newton’s Apple

08. 환생의 밤

09. 소멸탈출

10. Dear Genovese

11. Sunshine

02. Fantasy
The end of the fantasy that reassures you that everything will be alright when
They pass is all the same.
Even if I could turn it back, I’ve already come to know and feel far too much,
We can’t pretend it didn’t happen.
Right when you think it’s over.
That’s when it starts to hover.
It won’t disappear.
Just accept it.

The end of the fantasy that you will have grown as much as you’ve suffered
Is all the same.
Even if I could turn it back, I’ve already come to know and feel far too much,
We can’t pretend it didn’t happen.
Right when you think it’s over.
That’s when it starts to hover.
It won’t disappear.
Just accept it. That sometimes
There are indelible marks of sorrow.

Even if I could turn it back, I’ve already come to know and feel far too much,
We can’t pretend it didn’t happen.
Right when you think it’s over.
That’s when it starts to hover.
It won’t disappear.
Just accept it.

When it rains it soaks, and when it blows it shakes.
There’s no other way.
Yes, it’s natural.
When it rains it soaks, and when it blows it shakes.
There’s no other way.
Yes, it’s natural.
03. 타인의 기억_Other’s Memory
You.

That I used to have to send away in tears, now I talk about laughing.
Are you well, I wonder, like it’s nothing.

Now it’s just a memory past.
Written by memory, a short tucked away in an old drawer,
To stumble on occasionally.

You.
When you used to be all of my life, now I have difficulty remembering you.
Not that I tried hard to forget you, but I guess it just turned out like this.

Now it’s just memory that will disappear.
Shards of memory, slated in an old drawer, to be forgotten in time.
To break away.
Now, there’s only contours of feelings
About the times we plenty laughed and plenty cried.

I want to remember your face one last time.

 

04. 침묵의 역사_History of Silence

That I really didn’t mean,
That I just said it in the heat of the moment.
Can’t you just laugh it over,
You would have wanted me to say.

But that it was the exact opposite,
Frankly, don’t you know already know how I really feel,
That I want you to hold me,
You must have wanted me to say.

But, you seem like you’ve been preparing for a while now.
It seems like there isn’t a place for me to stay in you.

That I was just a bit tired,
That don’t everyone feel like this sometimes,
Couldn’t you just console me,
You would have wanted me to say.

Can’t you tell,
That I just wanted to be held a bit longer,
Couldn’t you just do that for me,
You must have wanted to say.

I know it’s useless to dwell on them now,
But if I had known a bit earlier, just a bit earlier
Wouldn’t we be different now.
Would we have been different?

That it cannot not be you,
Even those it irks a bit that it’s such a cliche,
That I want you to stay,
Perhaps I should have said so.

 

05. 지구가 태양을 네 번_Four Times Around the Sun

Slowly, frankly, even if it wasn’t going to be real soon, I believed it would be forgotten sometime
And I held onto that, shored myself up until now, and as if to mock me
Those memories are pulling all my hearts in towards you like gravity.
I can’t escape.

While the earth turned four times around the sun,
I’ve missed you; hundreds of times, I’ve had to cry.

It really is. When these are the memories that exhaust me, keep me unaccompanied,
Those memories are pulling all my hearts in towards you like gravity.
I can’t escape.

While the earth turned four times around the sun,
I’ve missed you, hundreds of times
And, had to go on erasing you,
Why did I have to do that.*

Just like the subject eternally trapped in the snapshot moment of a black-and-white photography,
Just like that subject, my sorrow is constant constantly faces you with singular expression.

While the earth turned four times around the sun,
I’ve missed you, millions of times.
And, had to go on erasing you,
Why did I have to be like that.*

While the earth turned four times around the sun, have you thought at least once.
How I would still miss you, even when
The earth will have turned ten times around the sun,

Why did you have to do that.
Why did you have to go.
Note: *the wording can just as easily refer to you, and suggest, “Why did you have to make me,” or “why did the situation have to be like that”.

08. 환생의 밤_Night of Rebirth

When the sun draws back and the darkness falls,
I awake from the dream.
Through the forest of thornbushes,
I run towards you.

Yes, you make me stronger.
Throw open the door to the new world,
Awake all the things that had been shut away.
No more suffocation.
The days I faintly writhed, those days are over.

Rub away the warmth of my diseased soul and be reborn.
The unbreakable, cold heart keeps me breathing.

Yes, you make me stronger
Throw open the door to the new world,
Awake all the things that had been shut away.
No more suffocation.
The days I faintly writhed, those days are over.

The eternal that I thought impossible, breathes life in my palm.
I’ve never felt something like this before.

Yes, you make me stronger.
Throw open the door that leads to another world.
Awake all the things that had been shut away.
No more suffocation.
The days I faintly writhed, those days are over.

 

09. 소멸탈출_Escaping Disspation**
With his head lowered, cowardice leaves me humbled,
And the crumbled knees dig into the earth,
The voice that I don’t know keeps ringing in the head,
And my precarious faith flickers like a candle.

Lift me up. Lift me up.
From this darkness.
Lift me up. Lift me up.
Help me stand.

Temptation or threat, one thing is for certain,
That I stand, always, on the opposite side of my true intentions
That I am entrapped in self-pity and self-loathing,
So that I sequester my whole in two-lettered word, regret***.

Lift me up. Lift me up.
From this darkness.
Lift me up. Lift me up.
Raise me up.
Don’t let me break down.

Through the fissures of my cracked heart,
The shadow of despair seeps in wordless.

Lift me up. Lift me up.
From this darkness.
Lift me up. Lift me up.
Help me stand.
Lift me up. Lift me up.
From this darkness.
Lift me up. Lift me up.
Raise me up.

Lift me up. Lift me up.
Lift me up. Lift me up.
Don’t let me break down.

**The title also can, and I think it does indeed, refer to the way in which meteors or other space debris upon reentry into earth’s atmosphere burns up, or evaporates. In keeping with the motif of gravity and fall, the image invoked is that of fall, into earth’s gravity and the hope of escaping the fate of burning up in the air.
*** “regret”, as you can imagine, is two letters. But also two syllabled word, just like its English equivalent.

 

10. Dear Genovese
I tried to approach you, but I stopped in my tracks when my legs froze over.
Started looking through other’s eyes, and instead closed mine.
As if nothing had happened,
I hide behind the mask, looking away.

Give me the courage
To face the truth, even in pain.
Give me that strength.
I am losing myself in the thick of darkness.
Raise your torch and shine my path.

Disappointingly, I was curled in dark of my room.
As time went on, I became dull to the touch, and everything had ended.
As if nothing had happened,
I live on, looking away.

Give me the courage
To face the truth, even in pain.
Give me that strength.
I am losing myself in the thick of darkness
Raise your torch and shine my path.

Give me the courage
To face the truth, even in pain.
Give me that strength.
I am losing myself in the thick of darkness
Raise your torch and shine my path.

 

11. Sunshine
Don’t argue.
In the end, it’s all for you.
Don’t argue.
Since, this isn’t for me.
Till all the tears you’ve shed have dried up,
Just hold on, endure. There isn’t much else you can do.

Don’t argue.
There isn’t anyone who will listen.
Don’t argue.
Since, you aren’t the only one tired.
Till all the tears you’ve shed have dried up,
Just hold on, endure. There isn’t much else you can do.

Gemstone that’s lost its luster would simply be thrown.
I want you to be brighter than sunshine.
I want you to be brighter than sunshine.
Brighter than sunshine.

I want you to be brighter than sunshine.
I want you to be brighter than sunshine.

I want you to be brighter than sunshine.
I want you to be brighter than sunshine.
I want you to be brighter than sunshine.
I want you to be brighter than sunshine.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Nell – Newton’s Apple”

  1. bogosipeo Says:

    thanks a lot. good day to you!

  2. Fanny Kristiani Says:

    thank you so much for helping peeps like me to understand what Nell said in their beautiful music 🙂

  3. epiksky Says:

    thank you for your translations!
    much appreciated ❤ the lyrics are so beautiful

  4. heijihatsutori Says:

    Thanks! I love your translation; it’s so poetic IMO.

  5. jizinker Says:

    Thank you!! ♥

  6. 마리야 Tenko (@MTenko) Says:

    thank you!♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

